March 2, 2017

I.F.A.R.M. donates software licensing to Kish

Gary Fisher and Dave Wesson, representatives of I.F.A.R.M. (Information For Agricultural Resource Management), visited Kishwaukee College on February 27 to meet and discuss the ag industry with students in AGT 210 - Introduction to Crop Science. They also presented their company’s donation of the site licensing for its online precision agriculture software to Kishwaukee College for use in the Agriculture Program.

Matt Feuerborn, Dean of Career Technologies at Kishwaukee, stated, “We have many local members of the ag community who are increasingly asking about precision agriculture classes so we are very grateful for this donation by I.F.A.R.M. Using new and evolving technology is a great opportunity for our students to be learning the very latest skills as they move on to agriculture careers.”

Gary Fisher added, “Our software is compatible with the university programs that many students will go into so this is excellent preparation for the students.” Fisher estimates a yearly subscription to the software is approximately $2,000 per user.

Precision Agriculture is also referred to as “Satellite Farming” or “Site Specific Crop Management.” The system utilizes information gleaned from GPS coordinates in a field to gain detailed information with pinpoint accuracy throughout a field, allowing the farmer to not only observe but measure and respond with precision to maximize production. Gathering detailed information over time allows the farmer to optimize field-level management.

For more information on Agriculture Programs at Kishwaukee College, contact Matt Feuerborn, Dean of Career Technologies, at 815-825-9381 or at; for more information on I.F.A.R.M., visit

Pictured are students from the AGT 210 – Intro to Crop Science class with I.F.A.R.M representatives. In the front row, L to R: Dr. Joanne Kantner, Interim Executive Dean of Learning Services; Trisha Roser, Gabbie Cultra, Noelle Jacobson, Kourtney Ranken, and Matthew Feuerborn, Dean of Career Technologies. Back row, L to R: Zack Witek, Dave Wesson, I.F.A.R.M. representative; Gary Fisher, I.F.A.R.M. representative; Steve Durin, Aviation/ Diesel Power Tech faculty; and Andrew Holzapfel.