May 17, 2017

Honors Research Awards

The Kishwaukee College Honors Program held its annual Honors Research Awards on May 4 at the College. Two students received awards for Excellence in Honors Research, Megan Ackland, Rochelle, and Jacob Nicholson, Chana.                   

Both recipients presented on their research to an audience that included Dr. Laurie Borowicz, President of Kishwaukee College, other administrators, faculty, staff, and fellow students. Ackland’s topic was “Service Learning in Higher Education” and Nicholson’s topic was “Democracy and Stability in Botswana.”

The Honors Program at Kishwaukee College is designed to provide strong students with challenging academic experiences. Students who meet eligibility requirements and are admitted to the Honors Program choose from a wide variety of Honors coursework that take the student from the ordinary classroom to an extraordinary learning opportunity. Branden McCullough is the Coordinator of the Honors Program at Kishwaukee College and a member of the History faculty. He began the Excellence in Honors Research Award program to allow students to present their academic work publicly.

The Kishwaukee College Honors Program has a separate application process than Kishwaukee College.  Current Kishwaukee College students are eligible to apply if they have completed at least 12 credit hours of 100-level or above coursework at Kishwaukee College or another accredited institution and have a cumulative GPA of 3.5/4.0.  New high school graduates entering Kishwaukee College for the first time are eligible to apply if they have a cumulative high school GPA of 3.75/4.0. Honors Program membership is designated on the students’ final transcripts and at commencement.

The Excellence in Honors Research Awards are sponsored by Dr. Dave and Mary Anne Louis through the Kishwaukee College Foundation. Dr. Louis is a former President of Kishwaukee College.

For more information on the Honors Program at Kishwaukee College, contact Branden McCullough at 815-825-9474 or at

Pictured, L to R, are: Jacob Nicholson; Branden McCullough, Coordinator of the Honors Program; and Megan Ackland.